Saved events

ECHO Rising Stars: Sonoro Quartet

The Sonoro Quartet standing in front of a stone wall and large blue door, holding their instruments

The Sonoro Quartet, ECHO Rising Stars for 2023/24, plays a programme of new works alongside music by Guillaume Lekeu and Shostakovich’s searing String Quartet No 8.

The Devil’s Dream, a haunting piece by contemporary Irish composer Seán Doherty, draws us into this unique programme. The Sonoro Quartet’s native Belgium is represented by a new commission from one of Belgium’s leading composers, Annelies van Parys, inspired by the call of the Japanese Cicadas, and by a passionate outpouring from the short-lived but brilliant Lekeu. The concert culminates in Shostakovich’s String Quartet No 8 – written in just three days in the bombed ruins of Dresden, and dedicated to all victims of war.

The Sonoro Quartet has swiftly established itself as one of today’s most sought-after young string quartets. Alongside the great quartet repertoire, the group champions new works by exciting composers such as Doherty – whose music is described by The Irish Times as ‘unfailingly gripping’.

The end time for this concert will be added here closer to the performance date

Produced by the Barbican

Nominated by BOZAR Brussels

Digital programme

Become a Patron

Our Patrons get access to tickets for sold-out performances, among other benefits.

LSO St Luke's