Saved events

Fenella Humphreys & Leah Broad

Quartet: How Four Women Changed the Musical World

Fenella Humphreys and Nicola Eimer leaning on each other

Violinist Fenella Humphreys joins forces with author Leah Broad and pianist Nicola Eimer to explore some of the most important but neglected figures of 20th century music.

Winner of the 2018 BBC Music Magazine Instrumental Award, Fenella Humphreys has become known as a violinist of infectiously joyful musicianship, as well as a passionate advocate for under-represented composers. In collaboration with Eimer and Broad, Humphreys shines a spotlight on Doreen Carwithen, one of Britain’s first woman film composers; Rebecca Clarke, acclaimed for her musical experimentation; Dorothy Howell, a prodigy who shot to fame at the Proms; and Ethel Smyth, a highly versatile composer of exceptional quality.

Following the release of her new book Quartet: How Four Women Changed the Musical World, Leah Broad is perfectly placed to introduce us to the lives of these trailblazing composers through their journals and correspondence, in an inspiring evening of words and music.

The end time for this concert will be added here closer to the performance date

Produced by the Barbican

Digital programme

Become a Patron

Our Patrons get access to tickets for sold-out performances, among other benefits.

Milton Court Concert Hall