Saved events

Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5

London Symphony Orchestra/Philippe Jordan

Philippe Jordan

Dramatic landscapes, folk-tales and fate, with conductor Philippe Jordan and violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider.

Philippe Jordan conducts a work that has the earth in its bones – Szymanowski’s impressionistic Violin Concerto No 2, which recreates in orchestral form the Polish folk music of the Tatra Mountain Region.

Then surrender to the sweeping, romantic tunes and lush orchestration of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth, a symphony that wavers between optimism and sorrow. An overall feeling of melancholy nostalgia gives way to tentative moments of optimism, even outright joy, and the sense that even the darkest hour must contain at least some glimmer of hope. 

Logo for Classic FM

Pre-concert performance

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Barbican Hall