Saved events

Half Six Fix: Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4

London Symphony Orchestra/Gianandrea Noseda

Gianandrea Noseda

Gianandrea Noseda devotes this short concert to a single work of concentrated emotional intensity: Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony.

1877 was an important and turbulent year for Tchaikovsky. He had attempted suicide. He had freed himself from a marriage that was doomed from the start, while retiring from a frustrating position at the Moscow Conservatory. He had acquired a regular income from his patron, and this finally freed him up to travel through Europe in search of the respite needed to restore his fractured psyche.

It was this period of personal crisis that brought about the Fourth Symphony, which commits itself not to one single mood, but to a detailed traversal of the extreme emotional terrain – both highs and lows – of this troubled but brilliant musical mind. 

These concerts start at 6.30pm and last for one hour, without an interval, featuring a short programme of one or two major works, which the conductor will introduce from the stage.

To bring you closer to the action, we’ll have screens to showcase the performers and programme notes available electronically on your Android or iPhone device – see below for more details and instructions.

You can also enjoy the music with a drink in your seat.

Logo for Classic FM

Barbican Hall