Saved events

Kavakos Plays Bach: Part 2

Leonidas Kavakos with his hands clasped sitting on a bench, his violin standing upright next to him

Leonidas Kavakos gives the second of his two recitals devoted to the Six Solo Violin Sonatas and Partitas by J S Bach, including the extraordinary Chaconne.

Opening with a highly decorated Adagio that unfolds like a mournful soliloquy, Bach’s Sonata No 1 also features a four-part Fugue of exhilarating variety. The Partita No 1 is a work of hidden depths, and the Partita No 2 culminates in one of the pinnacles of the repertoire, a Chaconne so monumental that it moved Brahms, years later, to write: ‘On one stave, for a small instrument, the man writes a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings.’

Leonidas Kavakos is one of the most versatile violinists on the world stage, and is celebrated for his recordings of these works: ‘The clarity of texture and shaping of contrapuntal lines in the fugues is delightful … Not so much music as a contemplation of the divine’ (The Strad).

The end time for this concert will be added here closer to the performance date

Produced by the Barbican

Digital programme

Become a Patron

Our Patrons get access to tickets for sold-out performances, among other benefits.