Saved events

Rachel Podger

Rachel Podger smiling and resting her head on her hand

Violinist Rachel Podger brings her spellbinding artistry to a solo recital, championing lesser-known Baroque works in a programme bookended by transcriptions of J S Bach’s most popular music.

The dramatic opening notes of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue are some of the most recognisable in organ music. Here Rachel Podger kicks off her recital with a transcription for solo violin, starting a journey around Baroque Europe featuring the exuberant sounds of Nicola Matteis Jr, Johann Joseph Vilsmayr, Johann Paul von Westhoff and Guiseppe Tartini. The inspiration of Bach comes full circle in Chad Kelly’s new work Phantasia: ‘The spectre of Bach as organist looms large’, before Bach’s evocative Suite No 6.

The first woman to be awarded the prestigious Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation Bach Prize in October 2015, plus Gramophone Artist of the Year in 2018, Podger brings distinctive verve to her performances along with superlative interpretative insights. ‘There is probably no more inspirational musician working today’ writes Gramophone.

The end time for this concert will be added here closer to the performance date

Produced by the Barbican

Digital programme

Rachel Podger smiling and resting her head on her hand

Rachel Podger

Rachel Podger explores a road less travelled in an adventurous recital of solo violin music from pre-Bach to the present day. Read the free digital programme to find out more.


Become a Patron

Our Patrons get access to tickets for sold-out performances, among other benefits.

Milton Court Concert Hall