Beethoven's 'Choral' Symphony

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Simon Rattle

Photo of Sir Simon Rattle conducting

Soprano Iwona Sobotka takes centre-stage for a powerful account of Berg’s Lulu Suite in a programme also featuring Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.

A haunting portrait of the darker aspects of human nature, Berg’s Suite condenses the story of his opera Lulu. In Paris, the fatally charming Lulu rises through society as a dancer and artists’ muse before travelling to London, where she meets her demise at the hands of Jack the Ripper.

Beethoven’s final Symphony spans a journey from turmoil to transcendence, an inescapable classic not just because of its historical resonance, but because it sounds so terrifically good. In its closing moments, the traditional finale of a Classical symphony is supplanted by a musical miscellany reaching back to genres from across history, culminating with a choral fantasia based on the words of Friedrich Schiller’s Ode to Joy.

Duration to be confirmed closer to the event. It includes a 20 minute interval.

Part of Beethoven 250 at the Barbican


Save 20–40% with the London Symphony Orchestra multibuy

£10 plus booking fee. Book Wildcard tickets here.

LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the day of the performance.

*Excludes £3 booking fee


Barbican Hall