Sir Simon Rattle: Walton 1

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Simon Rattle

Leila Josefowicz

Sir Simon Rattle launches the London Symphony Orchestra’s 2019–20 season with an all-British programme of music, including a world premiere.

The LSO’s 2019–20 season begins, as ever, with an all-British programme – opening with a world premiere by British Composer Award-winner Emily Howard, whose influences range from geometry and magnetism to the human brain and neural networks.

Leila Josefowciz takes on the role of soloist in Colin Matthews’s Violin Concerto, in which rhapsodic violin phrases soar over restless accompaniment in a swirling and impassioned dialogue. And Walton’s Symphony No 1, which combines influences from Sibelius to Vaughan Williams into a swaggering piece of 20th-century symphonic power, closes the concert.

Duration to be confirmed closer to the event. It includes a 20 minute interval.


Save 20–40% with the London Symphony Orchestra multibuy


LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the day of the performance.

*Excludes £3 booking fee

Pre-concert performance

6.30pm Barbican Freestage
LSO Discovery Choirs


With thanks


Antisphere commission supported by PRS Foundation's Open Fund for Organisations.

Performance generously supported by The London Community Foundation and Cockayne - Grants for the Arts.

Colin Matthew's Violin Concerto supported by Resonate, a PRS Foundation initiative in partnership with Association of British Orchestras, BBC Radio 3 and Boltini Trust.

Barbican Hall