Saved events

12 ensemble


a man standing on a misty beach

Music reimagined through time – the 12 ensemble find fresh voices in old sounds with music from Britten and Schubert, a new multimedia performance of Woolrich, plus a work from Tansy Davies.

It’s a programme that explores how artists reach across generations to influence each other. Renaissance composer John Dowland’s ‘Lachrimae’ provides the inspiration for Tansy Davies’s Residuum, and Britten’s own Lachrymae. Music, dance and film collide in Ulysses Awakes, Woolrich’s 1998 paraphrase of Monteverdi, performed live by the ensemble to a film of choreography by Alexander Whitley. Schubert’s ‘Death & The Maiden’ completes the evening, arranged for string orchestra by another great Romantic composer, Gustav Mahler.

Finding innovation in old ideas comes naturally to the 12 ensemble. Founded by Eloisa-Fleur Thom (Principal Violin) and Max Ruisi (Principal Cello) in 2012, they have established a reputation for injecting youthful energy into the chamber music repertoire. tonight they perform with guest viola soloist Jennifer Stumm.

This performance will begin promptly at the advertised start time and is expected to finish by 10.30pm.

Subject to change.

Set times

7.30pm 1st half

8.05pm interval

8.25pm 2nd half

Expected to finish by 9.30pm

Please note that these times are approximate and subject to change


photo of man

Watch: Reborn series - 'Ulysses Awakes'

Watch the trailer for Reborn series - 'Ulysses Awakes'.

Photo of man playing drum

Listen: Contemporary Classical on Spotify

Discover music from across the Contemporary Classical spectrum – from Judith Weir and George Benjamin to Nils Frahm and Max Richter.

£5 Young Barbican exhibition tickets

Aged 14-25? Sign up for free and unlock £5 exhibition tickets for you and a mate

Milton Court