Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Tilson Thomas

Sibelius Symphony No 5

Yuja Wang at the piano

Yuja Wang and Michael Tilson Thomas: two names that speak for themselves, in Rachmaninov’s hugely popular Second Piano Concerto. 

Rachmaninov was shaping up to be the greatest pianist in history when he wrote his Second Concerto, and even he used to consider it a challenge. So when you hear how effortless Yuja Wang makes it sound, you’ll understand why her concerts sell out around the globe.

And because Yuja’s playing is pure inspiration, Michael Tilson Thomas opens and closes the concert with two pieces that make you want to reach for the sky. From America, Aaron Copland’s muscular, steel-framed Variations for Orchestra – a real rarity. And from Finland, the symphony that came to Jean Sibelius when he saw a flock of swans in flight, and which ends with a melody so simple, and so memorable, that once you’ve heard it, it’s yours for life.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.30pm, including a 20 minute interval.

Barbican Hall