Saved events

The Gold Medal 2022

Three images of Gold Medal finalists

Three outstanding Guildhall instrumentalists compete for the School's most prestigious music prize.

Guildhall School’s premier music prize was founded in 1915 and since the 1950s it has been open to singers and instrumentalists in alternate years. This year it’s the turn of the instrumentalists, who will perform with Guildhall Symphony Orchestra conducted by Adrian Leaper. Previous winners of the Gold Medal include Jacqueline du Pré (1960), Tasmin Little (1986) and Sir Bryn Terfel (1989).

The programme features Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4, performed by William Bracken; Berg’s Violin Concerto performed by Kryštof Kohout; and Brahms’s Piano Concerto No 1, performed by Stephanie Tang. The evening closes with the adjudication by the panel and the winner of the Gold Medal is announced.

Tagged with: Classical music

This performance will finish at approximately 10pm, including two intervals

Join the Guildhall Circle

Get priority booking for outstanding performances & access to exclusive events

Barbican Hall