Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Rattle

Schumann & Schubert with Mitsuko Uchida

Pianist Mitsuko Uchida

Schubert's 'Great' symphony and Mitsuko Uchida playing Schumann: Sir Simon Rattle explores two works full of dreams and romance.

Schubert’s Ninth Symphony opens up vast, sunlit new worlds, and Schumann’s Piano Concerto is pure Romantic poetry, especially in the incomparable hands of Mitsuko Uchida.

‘Schumann gets neglected so easily by the public,’ says Uchida. ‘I love him very much’. And when a pianist as great as she is plays this warm-hearted, remarkably intimate concerto, you’ll feel that love too. It’s an inspired choice of Sir Simon’s to follow it with the boundless energy and vaulting optimism of Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major symphony: a work that Schumann rescued from obscurity, and summed up with the word ‘heavenly’.

Under new guidelines, there are fewer available seats in the Barbican Hall, set as single tickets or in groups of twos, threes and fours. You can only sit in the same seating cluster as someone from your own household (or support bubble) and we ask you to not swap seats so we can maintain a safe distance between you and other groups.

Tickets must be booked online in advance.

Two performances: 3.30pm & 6.30pm

The performances are expected to last 1 hour 20 minutes. There will be no interval.

These performances take the place of the concert originally scheduled at 7.30pm on Thursday 14 January.

Barbican Hall