Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Rattle

Berg & Schubert with Leonidas Kavakos

Kavakos Violin

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Schubert's ‘Great C Major’ Symphony and Berg's Violin Concerto with soloist Leonidas Kavakos.

Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major symphony didn’t get its nickname for nothing, and this vast, sunlit musical journey through the Romantic imagination is one of those pieces that just sweeps you away.

Another Viennese classic completes the programme as Leonidas Kavakos performs Berg’s lyrical Violin Concerto. ‘I doubt if there is more than a handful of violinists alive who can match Kavakos,’ wrote Gramophone of our soloist tonight.

Under new guidelines, there are fewer available seats in the Barbican Hall, set as single tickets or in groups of twos, threes and fours. You can only sit in the same seating cluster as someone from your own household (or support bubble) and we ask you to not swap seats so we can maintain a safe distance between you and other groups.

Tickets must be booked online in advance.

Two performances: 3.30pm & 6.30pm

The performances are expected to last 1 hour 20 minutes. There will be no interval.

The performances take the place of the concert originally scheduled at 7.30pm on Thursday 7 January.

Barbican Hall