Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Noseda

Shostakovich Symphony No 11

Janine Jansen

Shostakovich’s Eleventh Symphony and Britten’s Violin Concerto: conductor Gianandrea Noseda and violinist Janine Jansen are a powerhouse partnership in a pair of towering 20th-century masterpieces.

In a sense, the whole 20th century was spent dancing on a volcano. Shostakovich’s massive 11th symphony tells a tale of revolution and human suffering, in music that has the immediacy and impact of a great film score. And Britten wrote his Violin Concerto in 1939, as the clouds of war gathered. Every note reflects his anxiety – and his pain.

But nothing’s ever quite so simple, and amid Shostakovich’s furious trumpets and alarm bells the question refuses to die: whose side was he really on? And Britten, too, steps far outside his comfort zone, in a concerto that’s shot through with ambiguity and suppressed anger. In Gianandrea Noseda and Janine Jansen – described by the New York Times as ‘riveting in silence as in sound’ – we have a pair of artists who aren’t afraid to dig deep.

The performance is approximately 2 hours and includes a 20 minute interval

Barbican Hall