Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/LSO Futures

LSO Futures

Nicola Benedetti

Music is constantly evolving and endlessly intriguing, as living legend Betsy Jolas well knows, and her Well Met Suite is 'music about music, and the life of music'.

Striking short works by Charlie Piper and Ayanna Witter-Johnson begin the programme, and we will hear the premiere of George Stevenson's Vanishing City, much-delayed by COVID. Stevenson shares with Piper and Witter-Johnson his experience as an alumnus of the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme, and like all the composers we hear today, they are at the cutting edge of classical music of our age.

Mark Simpson's Violin Concerto was first heard in April in a streamed concert, receiving rave reviews, and tonight we’ll be among the very first people to hear it in person. This imaginative young Liverpudlian composer has a habit of thinking big, and telling it like it is. With Nicola Benedetti bringing all her unrivalled charisma and communicative power, this work is something very special indeed.


Due to disruption caused by travel restrictions and quarantine requirements, François-Xavier Roth and Patricia Kopatchinskaja have regrettably had to withdraw from this concert. The evening performance at 6.30pm will go ahead, with a change of artists and revised programme, but we have unfortunately had to take the decision to cancel the afternoon performance at 3.30pm. Ticket holders for the afternoon event will be automatically refunded within the next 7 days.

The LSO is very grateful to Ryan Wigglesworth for agreeing to step in to conduct at 6.30pm, and to violinist Nicola Benedetti, who will now be appearing as soloist.

This concert will now feature Mark Simpson’s highly acclaimed Violin Concerto, the first performance of the piece to a live audience, following its world premiere online in April on Marquee TV. George Stevenson's Vanishing City will also receive its world premiere, in addition to the unchanged performances of Charlie Piper’s Flēotan, Ayanna Witter-Johnson’s Fairtrade? and Betsy Jolas’ Well Met Suite. The planned UK premiere of Francisco Coll’s Violin Concerto, written for Patricia Kopatchinskaja, has been postponed.


This performance is subject to government guidelines.

Under new guidelines, we’ve fewer available seats in our venues and thoroughly clean between performances. You can only sit in the same seating cluster as someone from your own household (or support bubble) and we ask you to not swap seats so we can maintain a safe distance between you and other groups.

Tickets must be booked online in advance.

In the event of cancellations or postponements, all audience members will be given the option of a refund, exchange or credit.



Digital Programme

Programmes for the LSO's concerts at the Barbican are available to read online. The programmes can be viewed on mobile in the Hall, or a reduced version can be printed at home.

Digital programme notes
Free WiFi is available in the Barbican Hall for you to view digital programmes during the concert.

Print-at-home programme
You can bring a copy of our print-at-home alternative with you if you would prefer. Please recycle your programme after use.

Barbican Hall