Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Harding & Benedetti

Prokofiev, Boulanger, Dvořák & Debussy

Nicola Benedetti close up landscape playing violin

Nicola Benedetti and Daniel Harding bring together a kaleidoscopic musical travelogue, across Europe and the ocean beyond.

There’s a reason why Nicola Benedetti is one of Britain’s best-loved violinists. She’s a supreme communicator; one of those artists who seem to establish a direct connection to her listeners’ emotions. Expect playing of rare intensity and commitment as she tackles Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No 2 – a piece which was the product of the composer's ‘nomadic concert-tour existence’, with tinges of Spain as well as his homeland of Russia in its fluid, lyrical melodies.

That’s the heart of this typically imaginative programme, all about storytelling and atmosphere. Lilli Boulanger evokes the tingling vitality of a spring morning, while Dvořák retells a sinister fairytale from the Bohemian countryside, in music brimming with fantasy, melody and glowing orchestral colours. The evening ends as we submerge ourselves in the waves of Debussy’s La mer.

This concert will end at approx 8.55pm and includes a 20 minute interval.

Supported by LSO Patrons

Change of programme

Nicola Benedetti is no longer able to perform Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 due to a repetitive strain, but will instead perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2. Further to this change, Debussy’s La mer has been added to the programme and there will also now be an interval in the concert.

Posted 4.55pm 1 October 2021

Barbican Hall