Saved events

Daphnis and Chloe

London Symphony Orchestra/Elim Chan

Elim Chan conducts

As spring approaches, Elim Chan leads us from the cold winter’s nights into the splendour of sunlight, in this concert of music spanning the 20th century to the present day.

James Hoyle opens the night with the world premiere of his new work. Lukáš Vondrácek follows with a display of virtuosity in Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 3, a ferociously challenging but spectacular piece.

All these lighted things imagines the shedding of darkness by the music of dawn, expressing, in composer Elizabeth Ogonek’s words, ‘a sense of overwhelming happiness’ as the orchestra merges into one ‘community’ of joy.

Continuing the evocation of sunrise, Ravel’s Suite No 2 from Daphnis and Chloe tells the blissfully melancholic reunion of the lovers at daybreak. From the chromatic tiptoe of the first rays to a yearning crescendo, Ravel creates one of the most vibrant musical paintings of the subtle golden glow of sunrise.

Duration to be confirmed closer to the event. It includes a 20 minute interval.

Barbican Hall