Saved events

BBC Symphony Orchestra/Chauhan

Alpesh Chauhan portrait close up

In his Barbican debut with the Orchestra, Alpesh Chauhan brings us the intense power, cataclysmic terror and exquisite tenderness of Bruckner’s unfinished final symphony.

Anton Bruckner’s last, unfinished symphony was intended as his great spiritual autobiography. But even from the three movements the composer did finish, we experience intense power, cataclysmic terror and exquisite tenderness. Fate decreed that the symphony would end with music apparently slow enough to stop time itself – a great transfiguring Adagio that forms Bruckner’s epitaph.

Alpesh Chauhan makes his Barbican debut with the BBC Symphony Orchestra in this concert culminating in Bruckner’s enveloping work, preceded by one of Mozart’s most mysterious piano concertos and a new piece by Richard Baker.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.40pm, including a 20 minute interval.


Hall ceiling

Composer Focus – Episode 4: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Richard Tognetti

In episode four, host Edward Seckerson is joined by violinist, composer, and Australian Chamber Orchestra artistic director Richard Tognetti to discuss the genius, larger than life character, and prodigious talent of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

See more gigs for less

Get 20% off tickets and pay no booking fees. Plus, enjoy priority booking and Member-only events (T&Cs apply)

Barbican Hall