Rachmaninov Symphony No 2

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Simon Rattle

pianist Emmanuel Ax

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Brahms and Rachmaninov, a programme lush and stormy in equal measure.

It’s not hard to see why the Romantics found the sort of civilised passion contained in this programme so irresistible. Distant horn calls open Brahms’ Piano Concerto No 2, evolving into music that’s yearning, heartfelt and grand. For the pianist, the finale is both challenging and playful, capping things off with light-hearted gypsy melodies.

One of Rachmaninov’s most popular pieces, his Symphony No 2 is an indulgently melancholic and sentimental work. Dramatic sections played by the full orchestra contrast heart-breaking swells that only this composer could have written.

Duration to be confirmed closer to the event. It includes a 20 minute interval.


Save 20–40% with the London Symphony Orchestra multibuy


LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the day of the performance.

*Excludes £3 booking fee

Pre-concert performance

6.30pm, Barbican Foyers
Guildhall School musicians perform free pre-concert fanfares

Barbican Hall