Saved events

Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra/Michael Tilson Thomas

Julia Fischer

Celebrations of sound, nature and the seasons fill this programme, led by LSO Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas.

The cycle of the year, inspired by the composer’s immersion into Indian philosophy, is the backdrop to John Cage’s The Seasons, with each moment, from the austerity of winter to the stirring of spring, conjured up through vivid orchestral colours.

The warmth and radiance of the solo instrument takes centre stage in Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, played by soloist Julia Fischer, culminating in the spirited, dancing finale. However, in the Concerto for Orchestra, Bartók lets every instrument and section shine, resulting in a joyful celebration of music and the collection of individuals that makes up the orchestra.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.40pm, including a 20 minute interval.

Pre-concert performance

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Barbican Hall