Squish Space

Soft play for children under five

Squish Space Main Image

Discover, touch, play and learn in our new Squish Space.

A new multi-sensory adventure has arrived at the Barbican. Squish Space offers children a safe environment to experiment with versatile material giving them the freedom to redesign the space.

In this curiosity driven playground for the senses, children and their families will have the chance to connect through construction play.

Please note Squish Space has limited capacity and is busiest between 11am–12pm each day, especially on Friday mornings. Visitors may experience a wait at peak times.

Photography credit; Sharron Wallace

Squish Space is produced by artists India Harvey and Lisa Marie Bengtsson in collaboration with Barbican Guildhall Creative Learning. 

The creators

Squish Space is produced by India Harvey & Lisa Marie Bengtsson in collaboration with Barbican Guildhall Creative Learning. 

India is an artist, playworker and researcher. India’s current work is toward developing a kind of sociology of the senses based on participant’s interaction and intent when working with new and unusual materials.

Lisa is a designer and works across the disciplines and has a distinctive competence in the field of child culture and co-design with children. Lisa own company Form For Fun and her work focuses on interior, form and space for children’s play activities. 

Opening times

Squish Space is open on the following weekdays from 10am–4pm: 

Tuesday 23 October
Wednesday 24 October 
Thursday 25 October 
Friday 26 October

Monday 29 October 
Tuesday 30 October 
Wednesday 31 October

Thursday 1 November
Friday 2 November 

Monday 5 November
Thursday 8 November
Friday 9 November. Squish Space will be open from 10am–1pm for this session.

Monday 12 November
Tuesday 13 November
Wednesday 14 November
Thursday 15 November
Friday 16 November

Monday 19 November
Tuesday 20 November
Thursday 22 November
Friday 23 November

Tuesday 27 November
Wednesday 28 November
Thursday 29 November
Friday 30 November

Rhymetime will be hosted by the Barbican Children's Library from 11.30am-12pm on the following Friday's in November - 2, 16 and 30. 

Please note more dates to be released throughout the year. 

Collection: Creative Learning

Working to inspire, influence and create opportunities within the arts for people of all ages and backgrounds across east London, learn more about the work of our Creative Learning programme, in partnership with the Guildhall School

Level G Studio