Saved events

UK premieres of Larcher and Bruch

BBC Symphony Orchestra/Vedernikov

A photo of pianist, Pavel Kolesnikov

An Austro-German programme of music past and present with UK firsts for works by Larcher and, amazingly, Bruch. Haydn bids farewell as only he could.

A programme of variety and invention from a quartet of Austro-German composers opens with music by a BBC SO favourite, Thomas Larcher (whose Symphony made such an impact at the 2016 BBC Proms). It is followed by a UK premiere of Bruch’s Double Piano Concerto (with two of today’s most exciting young pianists), a work from 1912 of unashamed Romantic sensibility. Anton Webern’s exquisite Six Pieces from two years earlier show a very different musical language. The concert ends with a rare chance to hear Haydn’s Farewell Symphony with its closing plea to the composer’s employer to move his court back to Vienna – all these years later it retains its powerful originality, invention and humour.

Barbican Hall