Barbican Blocks

Photo of young child playing in a soft playground Barbican Blocks

A squishy squashy adventure for under-fives

Play, build and invent in a world of texture and colour for under-fives and their families.

A freestanding cube unpacks to become a selection of blocks made out of all sorts of materials that young children can use to shape the space around them in a sensory adventure.

Check out the session times for when the blocks are popping into the foyers.

Barbican Blocks sessions have a strict capacity limit and entry will be managed on a first come first served basis. 

Barbican Blocks is produced by Co-DB Play and Pop up Parks in collaboration with Barbican Guildhall Creative Learning.

Pop up Parks create vibrant spaces in urban environments that encourage children and families to spend more time being playful, creative and physically active. Their projects transform underused spaces into play areas causing communities to see their environment in a different light, and feel included in its creation and change.

Sessions

February
Week 3: Tue* 13 Feb, Thu* 15 Feb, Fri 16 Feb
Week 4: Tue* 20 Feb, Thu* 22 Feb, Fri 23 Feb
Week 5: Tue* 27 Feb, Wed* 28 Feb, Thu 1 Mar

March
Week 2: Tue 13 Mar*, Thu 15 Mar**,Fri 16 Mar, Sat 17 Mar, Sun 18 Mar
Week 3: Tue 20 Mar*, Thu 22 Mar** 
Week 4: Tue 27 Mar*, Wed 28 Mar**, Fri 30 Mar
         
Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday run 1.30–3.30pm

Friday sessions run 10–12pm

Saturday and Sunday sessions run 11am–1pm

*Tuesday afternoon sessions are for babies 12 months and under

**These sessions will include Rhyme Time with the Barbican Children’s Library

 

Barbican Foyers

Collection: Creative Learning

Working to inspire, influence and create opportunities within the arts for people of all ages and backgrounds across east London, learn more about the work of our Creative Learning programme, in partnership with the Guildhall School

Support young people’s creative development

Give young people the chance to develop their own creativity and skills for life by supporting the Barbican Fund