Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Tilson Thomas

Sibelius Symphony No 2

Yuja Wang at the piano

Yuja Wang plays Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto and Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Sibelius. Big personalities for big pieces.

With some artists, the name is enough. ‘Yuja Wang’s pianism inspires a sense of wonder,’ wrote one critic after she played solo at the Barbican. In partnership with our Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas in the delightfully playful concerto that Shostakovich wrote for his teenage son, she’ll shine like a diamond.

But any diamond needs an appropriate setting, and Tilson Thomas begins with a striking new work by the young Finnish composer Joel Järventausta – a student of George Benjamin. And then he joins Jean Sibelius amidst the majesty of a very different Finnish landscape. Sibelius’ Second Symphony begins gently but gradually swells, like a river, to an unstoppable surge of hope, melody and the best kind of national pride.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.30pm, including a 20 minute interval.


Save 20–40% with the London Symphony Orchestra multibuy


LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the evening of the performance.

Book early for the best price – following an initial release, available Wildcards may rise in price from £10 to £15.

Tickets subject to availability, max two per person per concert.
Wildcards must be exchanged for valid concert tickets at the stalls box office on the evening of the performance – your seat will be allocated then. Cannot guarantee that two tickets purchased at the same time will be seated next to each other. Online booking only.
Cannot be combined with any other offers or discounts. 

*Excludes £3 booking fee

Barbican Hall