Saved events

London Symphony Orchestra/Tilson Thomas

Sibelius Symphony No 5

Yuja Wang at the piano

Yuja Wang and Michael Tilson Thomas: two names that speak for themselves, in Rachmaninov’s hugely popular Second Piano Concerto. 

Rachmaninov was shaping up to be the greatest pianist in history when he wrote his Second Concerto, and even he used to consider it a challenge. So when you hear how effortless Yuja Wang makes it sound, you’ll understand why her concerts sell out around the globe.

And because Yuja’s playing is pure inspiration, Michael Tilson Thomas opens and closes the concert with two pieces that make you want to reach for the sky. From America, Aaron Copland’s muscular, steel-framed Variations for Orchestra – a real rarity. And from Finland, the symphony that came to Jean Sibelius when he saw a flock of swans in flight, and which ends with a melody so simple, and so memorable, that once you’ve heard it, it’s yours for life.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.30pm, including a 20 minute interval.


Save 20–40% with the London Symphony Orchestra multibuy


LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the evening of the performance.

Book early for the best price – following an initial release, available Wildcards may rise in price from £10 to £15.

Tickets subject to availability, max two per person per concert.
Wildcards must be exchanged for valid concert tickets at the stalls box office on the evening of the performance – your seat will be allocated then. Cannot guarantee that two tickets purchased at the same time will be seated next to each other. Online booking only.
Cannot be combined with any other offers or discounts. 

*Excludes £3 booking fee

Barbican Hall