Saved events

LSO Artist Portrait: Daniil Trifonov

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Simon Rattle

Daniil Trifonov

Piano sensation Daniil Trifonov commences his LSO Artist Portrait series with an all-French programme conducted by Sir Simon Rattle.

Trifonov accompanies the LSO for Ravel’s jazz-flecked Piano Concerto in G Major. Famously opening with the sound of a whip-crack, the piece launches into an ecstatic outpouring of vitality and joy, slowing for a simple and elegant second movement, before picking up the pace for an exhilarating finale.

Alongside pieces by Rameau and Poulenc, this concert sees the LSO’s first performance of Betsy Jolas’ A Little Summer Suite, a commission by Sir Simon Rattle. The piece plays contrasting rhythms and melodic lines against each other, using a jaunty pallet of sounds to create a breezy, playful feel. A true burst of summer to warm this late-winter concert.

The performance is expected to finish around 9.15pm, including a 20 minute interval.

Barbican Hall