Schumann's Symphony No 4

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Piotr Anderszewski

Works from the happiest time of Robert Schumann's life – his marriage to pianist Clara Wieck, his inspiration and muse.

Schumann’s Overture, Scherzo and Finale was originally conceived as a symphony, or 'symphonette' as he liked to call it, but having no slow movement he eventually republished it as this three-movement work.

The Fourth Symphony was also revised by Schumann after the unsuccessful premiere. However, in the face of opposition from Clara, Brahms later revived the original version, presented in this concert, which he considered lighter and more transparent in texture.

Change of soloist and concerto

Maria João Pires is retiring from major concert projects as from January 2018 and is therefore now unavailable for her London and tour performances with the LSO and Sir John Eliot Gardiner in March 2018. We are grateful to Piotr Anderszewski who will now be performing with the Orchestra for the Barbican concert on 15 March.

Due to the change of soloist there will also be a change of concerto, with Mozart Piano Concerto No 25, K503 being performed in place of the Schumann Piano Concerto. 

If you are booking for four or more London Symphony Orchestra concerts please follow the multibuy booking links throughout your booking to ensure that the correct discounts are applied.

£10 plus booking fee. Book Wildcard tickets here

LSO Wildcard tickets guarantee you entry to the concert, but you won’t know your seat until the day of the performance.

Under 18s £5

*Excludes £3 booking fee

Barbican Hall