Saved events

Dvořák, Bruch and Elgar

London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Mark Elder

Photo of Elder conducting

Rousing musical characterisations, dazzling virtuosic violin writing and 'the passionate pilgrimage of a soul' fill this concert.

Dvořák’s overture, originally one of three written together, is not a faithful musical adaptation of Shakespeare’s tragedy, but portrays the love and emotions that are central to the drama with the rousing, spectacular coda depicting the outcome of Othello's suicide.

Bruch was a master at writing for stringed instruments, and this concerto allows the violin to shine. With dazzling virtuosic passages and heart-breaking romantic themes, the concerto became so popular that it overshadowed everything else Bruch wrote.

More complicated and opulent than his first, Elgar's Second Symphony was written in memory of King Edward VII who died in 1910. It ‘glows with a strange, veiled radiance and reveals his true colouristic genius,’ says critic Tom Service.

Logo for Classic FM

Pre-concert Event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

ELGAR Piano Quintet in A minor, Op 84

Joon Yoon piano
Amarins Wierdsma violin
Lyrit Milgram violin 
Alexander McFarlane viola
Ben Tarlton cello

Barbican Hall