LSO / Gergiev

Stravinsky, Debussy, Prokofiev

23 January 2007 - 14 June 2007 / 00:00


Valery Gergiev begins his new tenure with the LSO by presenting his first series focused on Stravinsky, Debussy, Prokofiev, three of the major composers of the first half of the 20th century. Running from January through June, the series is a stimulating combination of familiar and lesser known repertoire, including several works which have never been performed before by the LSO - Prokofiev’s Seven They are Seven, Four Portraits from ‘The Gambler’, October Cantata and Stravinsky’s King of the Stars. The LSO has been the Barbican’s resident orchestra since its opening in 1982 and it has firmly established itself as one of the top five orchestras in the world.

23 Jan 2007
King of the Stars
Prokofiev Scythian Suite
Stravinsky Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments
Stravinsky The Firebird
For full details click here

29 Mar 2007
Symphonies of Wind Instruments
Debussy La mer
Prokofiev Seven They are Seven
Debussy Prélude á l'après-midi d'un faune
For full details click here

13 May 2007
Oedipus Rex
Debussy Symphonic fragments from 'Le martyre de Saint Sébastien'
Prokofiev Four portraits from 'Le Gambler'
For full details click here

14 May 2007
Symphony in C
Debussy Nocturnes
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet
For full details click here

13 Jun 2007

Stravinsky Symphony in Three Movements
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No 1
Debussy (orch Colin Matthews) Préludes
Stravinsky Petrushka
For full details click here

14 Jun 2007
Le Noces
Debussy First Rhapsody
Prokofiev October Cantata
For full details click here

Celebrating the Barbican's 25th anniversary
Visit the 25th anniversary website


why not try

Battle of Ideas 2017: Weekend pass
28 - 29 Oct 17 / Battle of Ideas
Information info

Into the Unknown
3 Jun 17 - 1 Sep 17 / The Curve
Information info