LSO/Sir Simon Rattle: Genesis Suite

13 January 2018 / 19:30

Sir Simon Rattle conducts two works from the 1940s, including a rarely-heard collaboration between some of the biggest composers of the day.

Accompanied by specially-created visual projections, Sir Simon Rattle conducts the Genesis Suite, a single work of seven movements each telling a different story from the book of Genesis. In a grand and shocking musical gesture designed to draw attention to the horrors of the Second World War, every movement was composed by a different composer displaced from their homeland by persecution and war, with Schoenberg, Stravinsky and Milhaud among those to contribute in their own inimitable musical styles.

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra can also be heard as an expression of his own emigré experience. Displaced to America, lacking contacts, and with money short, he was given the opportunity to write for the Boston Symphony Orchestra. True to its title, he lets every section shine in this joyful celebration of orchestral music, and perhaps the new-found political freedom he held in his new home.

Part of our 2018 Season, The Art of Change, which explores how artists respond to, reflect and can potentially effect change in the social and political landscape.

Programme & Performers

Schoenberg, Stravinsky, Milhaud et al Genesis Suite
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Gerard McBurney creative director
Mike Tutaj projection and media design
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director

Promoted by the Barbican


why not try

Too Young For What?
7 Oct 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info

The People's Forest
13 Oct 17 - 18 Mar 18 / Foyers
Information info