BBC Symphony Orchestra/Volkov

17 February 2017 / 19:30
Rachmaninovís final symphony concludes a concert that includes Franz Schrekerís interlude from his opera Der ferne Klang and a brand new work by Nicola LeFanu.

Nicola LeFanu unveils her new RPS commission, a work for soprano and orchestra, with Ilan Volkov, a passionate champion of the new, on the podium. A child of fin-de-siŤcle Vienna, opera composer Schrekerís ravishingly beautiful NachtstŁck forms the lush opener to an evening that closes with Rachmaninovís last symphony, which despite having been written far from the composer's homeland, is deeply entrenched in a Russian heritage.

Programme & Performers

Schrecker 'NachtstŁck' from Der ferne Klang
Nicola LeFanu The Crimson Bird, for soprano and orchestra (RPS commission, world premiere)
Rachmaninov Symphony No 3

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov 
Rachel Nicholls soprano
This event is part of:
Promoted by BBC Symphony Orchestra

Nicola LeFanu' s The Crimson Bird was made possible by the award of the Royal Philharmonic Society Elgar Bursary.


why not try

Architecture on Stage: Tom de Paor
4 Oct 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info

Another Kind of Life
28 Feb 18 - 27 May 18 / Art Gallery
Information info