London Symphony Orchestra / Gianandrea Noseda

LSO Artist Portrait: Janine Jansen

6 April 2017 / 19:30

Janine Jansen concludes her LSO Artist Portrait series, taking the solo role in a moving, modernist masterpiece – Berg’s Violin Concerto.

Berg dedicated his Concerto 'to the memory of an angel'. Written after the death of a close friend’s daughter, the solo violin’s poignant melodies give voice to the young girl’s life. It’s paired here with Mahler’s Seventh Symphony, an epic but enigmatic work, which begins with a sombre funeral march but ends in a blistering finale of high spirits and triumphant melodies.

This concert brings to a close Janine Jansen’s LSO Artist Portrait, a series of performances showing the many sides to her celebrated skill and artistry. Gianandrea Noseda, a regular guest conductor with the LSO, is on the podium, placing together works by two key figures in 20th-century Viennese musical life.

Programme & Performers

Berg Violin Concerto
Mahler Symphony No 7

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2016–17
Classical Music 2016–17


why not try

The Japanese House - Family Workshops
21 May 17 - 17 Jun 17 / Art Gallery
Information info

Find Yourself
28 Mar 17 - 21 May 17 / Foyers
Information info