BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert: Jennifer Pike and Peter Limonov

Elgar Up Close

14 April 2016 / 13:00
LSO St Luke’s

 Sold out

Rising star violinist Jennifer Pike launches a four-concert series revealing Edward Elgar's beautiful and little-heard music for strings.

In this BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert with pianist Peter Limonov, Jennifer Pike plays works Elgar composed for his own instrument the violin, including the sonata he said was 'full of golden sounds', together with music composed in the same period by Vaughan Williams: the original violin and piano version of his best-loved piece The Lark Ascending.   

Next Thursday the LSO String Ensemble plays Elgar's Introduction and Allegro with Vaughan Williams's Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis and Benjamin Britten's Frank Bridge Variations.  Two concerts by the Elias Quartet complete the Elgar series. They complement Elgar's Piano Quintet with three Stravinsky pieces composed in the same period, and Elgar's String Quartet with more great English string chamber music: Fantasias by Henry Purcell.

Programme & Performers

Programme to include:
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Elgar Violin Sonata in E minor

Jennifer Pike violin
Peter Limonov piano


why not try

Afternoon Tea in the Conservatory
18 Jun 17 - 17 Sep 17 / Conservatory Level 3
Information info

Yto Barrada
7 Feb 18 - 20 May 18 / Curve Gallery
Information info

Magnum Photos Now
26 Sep 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info