London Symphony Orchestra / James Gaffigan

with Nicola Benedetti

6 November 2015 / 19:30

 Sold out

A concert of all-American connections and more than a touch of jazz, under the baton of one of the most exciting young American conductors working today.

Stravinskyís first major work after emigrating to the United States in 1939 is shot through with striking syncopations, not unlike Bernsteinís much more overtly jazzy opener for big band written just a few years later. A different side of Bernstein is found in the Hebrew setting of the Chichester Psalms, but the highlight of the evening is the first performance of a new violin concerto from one of the greatest jazz minds of the modern era, Wynton Marsalis, whose Swing Symphony the LSO premiered in 2012.

Programme & Performers

Bernstein Prelude, Fugue and Riffs*
Wynton Marsalis Concerto in D (world premiere)**
Stravinsky Symphony in Three Movements
Bernstein Chichester Psalms***

James Gaffigan conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin**
Chris Richards clarinet*
Ben Hill boy treble***
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey
chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2015-16


why not try

Battle of Ideas 2017
28 - 29 Oct 17 / Battle of Ideas
Information info

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

The People's Forest
13 Oct 17 - 18 Mar 18 / Foyers
Information info