Bach Collegium Japan Residency: Magnificat

9 April 2016 / 19:30

 Sold out

Masaaki Suzuki and his acclaimed Bach Collegium Japan end their first major UK residency in a burst of colour and a great shout of joy.

Johann Sebastian Bach could scale the heights of celebration as well as solemnity. Masaaki Suzuki and his superb Bach Collegium Japan end their Barbican residency with the boundless invention of Bach’s Orchestra, Suites and the sheer choral exuberance of his Magnificat.

Few living performers can match Suzuki’s record in Bach’s choral music; his 2013 performance of Magnificat with the Collegium was praised by the New York Times as ‘refined and vibrant’. Tonight, it’s a gloriously joyous close to the Collegium’s celebration of Bach at the Barbican – and the ideal choral counterpart to Bach’s Orchestral Suites, music whose richness and colour never loses its freshness.

Programme & Performance

Bach Orchestral Suite No 3 in D
Concerto for two violins in D minor
Cantata 'Bekennen will ich seinen Namen' BWV 200

Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki conductor
Rachel Nicholls soprano
Joanne Lunn soprano
Robin Blaze countertenor
Colin Balzer tenor
Dominik Wörner bass

Please note: Rachel Nicholls replaces Hana Blažíková as soprano for this concert.

More concerts by the Bach Collegium Japan:

Fri 8 Apr - Bach Collegium Japan Residency: Mass in B Minor
Sat 9 Apr - Bach Collegium Japan Residency: Exploring Bach
Sat 9 Apr - Bach Collegium Japan Residency: Jesu meine Freude

This event is part of:
Bach Collegium Japan Residency 2016

Promoted by the Barbican

Supported by the Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation


why not try

Trajal Harrell: Hoochie Koochie
20 Jul 17 - 13 Aug 17 / Art Gallery
Information info

Curious Unfinished
6 Jul 17 / Barbican Exhibition Halls
Information info