London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Antonio Pappano

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies world premiere - NB: Change of concerto

2 February 2014 / 19:30

£10 £15 £20 £28 £37

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Elgar In The South
Britten Violin Concerto
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies Symphony No 10 (world premiere, commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra with generous support from UBS as part of ‘UBS Soundscapes’)

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Maxim Vengerov violin
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey
chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

The LSO and London Symphony Chorus premiere the Tenth Symphony from iconic British composer (and Master of the Queen’s Music) Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, and legendary violinist Maxim Vengerov plays Britten’s supremely imaginative Violin Concerto. 

Change of programme
At the request of the soloist, the concerto being performed will now be the Britten Violin Concerto, rather than the Elgar Violin Concerto that was originally scheduled when listings were first published in January 2012.
[change announced 15 May 13]

Sun 2 Feb 10am-5.30pm, Barbican & LSO St Luke's
LSO Discovery Day: Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

Immerse yourself in the life and music of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies
> More info and booking on the LSO website

Guildhall Artists at the Barbican
6pm, Barbican Hall
Free entry
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies Hymnos and Ave Maris Stella

David Ruff flute / alto flute
Oliver Pashley clarinet
George Barton marimba
Moira Bette viola
Arthur Boutillier cello
Siwan Rhys piano

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2013–2014
All classical music events - 2013–2014 season


why not try

John Akomfrah: Purple
6 Oct 17 - 7 Jan 18 / Curve Gallery
Information info

Too Young For What?
7 Oct 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info