Gewandhausorchester Leipzig / Chailly / Brahms Cycle

Barbican International Associate Residency

22 October 2013 / 19:30


£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Brahms Concerto in A minor for violin, violoncello and orchestra
Brahms Symphony No 1

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Riccardo Chailly
Leonidas Kavakos violin
Enrico Dindo cello

The concert finishes at approximately 10pm

The nervous, self-effacing Johannes Brahms had a habit of making promises he couldn’t keep. Most blatant was the assertion in 1872 that he’d ‘never write a symphony’. Sure enough, and despite the thuds of Beethoven’s footsteps ringing in his ears, Brahms proved himself spectacularly wrong. When the composer’s First Symphony finally arrived, it made the most awesome of entrances – launching with a turbulent face-off between pounding drums, climbing strings and plunging woodwinds. Brahms was shaking the very ground before him, and this was just the start. The Leipzig Gewandhaus follows its landmark Beethoven cycle at the Barbican with the symphonies of Johannes Brahms, starting here.

Listen to Riccardo Chailly discuss the music of Brahms here.

RSVP on facebook here.

This event is part of:
All classical music events - 2013–2014 season
Barbican Presents 2013–2014

Produced by the Barbican


why not try

Too Young For What?
7 Oct 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info