BBC Symphony Orchestra / Volkov

Beethoven's Seventh Symphony

22 January 2014 / 19:30


Part of BBC SO multibuy

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Grisey Mégalithes (UK premiere)
Hugues Dufourt Piano Concerto (UK premiere)
Pierre Boulez cummings ist der Dichter
Beethoven Symphony No 7

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov
Nicolas Hodges piano
BBC Singers

Beethoven’s powerful seventh symphony is prefaced by a beguiling trio of modern French works in the first of two concerts pairing Beethoven with recent French music. The BBC Singers have had great success with Boulez’s now-classic work cummings ist der Dichter, which sets the poetry of ee cummings for vocal ensemble and chamber orchestra. Conductor Ilan Volkov, known for his high-voltage performances and radical programmes, presents the UK premiere of Hugues Dufort’s piano concerto with Nicolas Hodges as soloist. Dufort’s own world of sonorities reflects that of one of France’s greatest 20th century composers, Gérard Grisey. In his monumental early work Mégalithes, 15 brass players scattered around the hall will hurl sonic clusters of shimmering dissonance into the auditorium.

The concert finishes at approximately 9.30pm

This concert is part of the BBC Symphony Orchestra’s French series supported by Diaphonique, the Franco-British contemporary music fund.

BBC SO Plus: Pre-concert talk, Fountain Room, 6pm
An introduction to tonight's concert.

This event is part of:
All classical music events - 2013–2014 season
BBC Symphony Orchestra 2013–2014

Promoted by BBC Symphony Orchestra


why not try

Modern Couples
10 Oct 18 - 27 Jan 19 / Art Gallery
Information info

The Cherry Orchard
16 - 21 Oct 17 / Milton Court Theatre
Information info