London Symphony Orchestra/John Adams

with the St Lawrence String Quartet

27 January 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Ives Country Band March
Copland Appalachian Spring - Suite
Carter Variations for Orchestra
John Adams Absolute Jest for String Quartet and Orchestra

John Adams conductor
St Lawrence String Quartet
London Symphony Orchestra

The use of quotations from other works is explored in this programme conducted by John Adams: Copland’s Appalachian Spring makes use of the Shaker melody Simple Gifts, whilst Ives parodies the performance of a country band using an impressive list of quotations including London Bridge and Yankee Doodle. Adams’ own Absolute Jest incorporates more than a half dozen Beethoven fragments, mostly from the late string quartets.

Part of LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
Part of LSO 2012–2013
Part of All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd

London Symphony Orchestra

why not try

Ragnar Kjartansson
14 Jul 16 - 4 Sep 16 / Art Gallery
Information info  Book tickets book

Architecture on Stage: City Architects
6 Jun 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info  Book tickets book

Art Safari: This was the Future
28 May 16 / Conservatory
Information info