London Symphony Orchestra/Yutaka Sado

NB Change of Conductor

13 January 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Elgar Cello Concerto
Mozart Requiem

Yutaka Sado conductor
Tim Hugh cello
Elizabeth Watts soprano
Daniela Lehner mezzo soprano
Maximilian Schmitt tenor
Andrew Foster-Williams baritone
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra

Two giants of the classical canon sit side by side in this juxtaposition of Elgar’s bittersweet Cello Concerto with the ever-mysterious Requiem by Mozart. Upon receiving an anonymous commission from a gentleman wanting a piece composed in memory of his late wife, Mozart got to work, only to die himself before finishing the job. Speculation over who completed the remainder may have lingered ever since, but no one can deny the work’s emotional power.

Change of Conductor
For the last few months Sir Colin Davis has been recuperating from a recent illness. He is making steady progress but does not yet feel quite ready to return to the podium and sadly has had to withdraw from the LSO concert on 13 January. The programme will remain the same and we are pleased to announce that Yutaka Sado will now lead the Orchestra in Elgar’s Cello Concerto with soloist Tim Hugh and Mozart’s Requiem.
Sir Colin remains hopeful that he will return to conduct the LSO for his concerts in March.
[Notice posted Fri 4 Jan 2.45pm]

This concert is dedicated to the memory of former LSO Principal Oboe Kieron Moore, who passed away in October 2012.

This event is part of:
LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
LSO 2012–2013
All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

Julius Caesar
24 Nov 17 - 20 Jan 18 / Theatre
Information info

Curious Unfinished
6 Jul 17 / Barbican Exhibition Halls
Information info

Werq: A London Voguing Ball
5 Aug 17 / Clubstage Level -1
Information info