BBC Symphony Orchestra / Davis

12 April 2013 / 19:30

Tickets £10 – 30

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Jonathan Lloyd New work for Strings
(RoyalPhilharmonic Society Elgar Bursary commission: world premiere)
Brahms Piano Concerto No 1
Tippett Symphony No 4

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sir Andrew Davis
Stephen Hough piano

Our Artist in Focus, Stephen Hough, returns to perform Brahms’s tumultuous first Piano Concerto

with Sir Andrew Davis. Hough has written of the ‘burst of utter, natural, divine genius’ that propels this concerto, ‘it’s flame flares with such intensity, and such promise of more to come, that I find myself overwhelmed by it’. As part of our Tippett retrospective, we come to his fourth and final symphony, which follows a life-cycle from birth to death in a single movement, complete with breathing effects; an astonishing example of the imaginative vitality of the composer’s late years. Jonathan Lloyd, whose own fourth symphony was written for the BBC SO, makes a welcome return with a new work for strings.

Running time TBC

BBC SO Plus Family 6pm, Fountain Room
An introduction to concert-going for families

Part of Families at the Barbican
Part of BBC Symphony Orchestra 2012–2013 multibuy
Part of All classical music events - 2012–2013 season
Part of BBC Symphony Orchestra 2012–2013

Creative Learning
Educational opportunities for all

why not try

Possibly Colliding: Session Seven
3 Jul 16 / Milton Court Concert Hall
Information info  Book tickets book