London Symphony Orchestra / Thomas Adès

Music by Thomas Ades and Mahler

15 January 2012 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

 Sold out

Francisco Coll Hidd'n Blue
Thomas Adès
In Seven Days for piano and orchestra
Mahler Des Knaben Wunderhorn
Thomas Adès Tevot

Thomas Adès conductor
Nicolas Hodges piano
Toby Spence tenor
London Symphony Orchestra

The 19th-century collection of German poems known as Des Knaben Wunderhorn (The Youth’s Magic Horn) provided inspiration for many composers, including Schumann and Brahms, but it was Mahler who was particularly enamoured, setting its folk tales to music throughout his life. The delicate collection for tenor and orchestra is framed by two Adès pieces including In Seven Days, a piano concerto noted by the New York Times as ‘riveting, restless and kaleidoscopically colourful’.

Tonight’s concert will also feature the world premiere of Francisco Coll’s Hidd'n Blue. This new work was commissioned by the LSO Discovery Panufnik Young Composers Scheme, generously supported by the Helen Hamlyn Trust.

LSO Discovery Day: Contemporary British Composers
Sun 15 Jan 10am–5.30pm, Barbican and LSO St Luke's
Find out more about the life and music of British Contemporary Composers with access to an LSO rehearsal and a chamber music session with LSO players and Guildhall Students.
Tickets £16 (£12.50 concessions); afternoon only £10
Full information and online booking on the LSO website

This event is part of:
LSO 2011-2012
Classical Music all events 2011-12

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

Goldberg Variations
5 - 7 Jul 18 / Theatre
Information info

John Akomfrah: Purple
6 Oct 17 - 7 Jan 18 / Curve Gallery
Information info