XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition Winners Concert

London Symphony Orchestra / Valery Gergiev (Please note start time)

21 September 2011 / 19:00

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

subject to availability
 sold out

Tchaikovsky Polonaise from 'Eugene Onegin'
Tchaikovsky Letter Scene from 'Eugene Onegin'
Tchaikovsky Roccoco Variations
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1

Valery Gergiev conductor
Narek Hakhnazaryan cello
Daniil Trifonov piano
Sun Young Seo soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

An all-Tchaikovsky gala programme featuring the winners from the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition held in July 2011, in the first major concert to be held outside Russia with the winners under the new direction of Valery Gergiev.

Please note start time

Change of programme
In a change to earlier listings King Rene’s aria from ‘Iolanta’ will not be performed, as baritone soloist Jong Min Park can no longer participate in the concert

Artist Conversation: Valery Gergiev
13.15pm, Fountain Room, Barbican Level 0
Valery Gergiev joins LSO Principal Flute and Vice Chairman Gareth Davies in this artist conversation focusing on his commitment to young musicians entering the profession, and how this led to his involvement with the International Tchaikovsky Competition.
Free entry, booking required on 020 7638 8891
More info on the LSO website

Part of Classical Music all events 2011-12
Part of LSO 2011-2012
Part of Gergiev's Russians

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd

London Symphony Orchestra

Do Something Different: Other events on at the barbican
The Barbican Exhibition: Designing for a Living City
19 Mar 16 - 16 Oct 16 / Foyer, Level G
Information info

Assemble: Some of its parts
23 Feb 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info

Barbican Open Salon: The Art of Being Alone
8 Mar 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info  Book tickets book

Ragnar Kjartansson
14 Jul 16 - 4 Sep 16 / Art Gallery
Information info