London Symphony Orchestra / Daniel Harding

Brahms Violin Concerto with Janine Jansen, plus music by Wagner and Strauss

17 February 2011 / 19:30

£8 £14 £19 £25 £32

subject to availability
 sold out

Brahms Violin Concerto
Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Strauss Tod und Verklärung

Daniel Harding conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tonight's concert will also feature Fred & Ginger by Gary Carpenter. This short work is part of the UBS Soundscapes: Pioneers series and was commissioned by LSO Discovery, with support from UBS.

Brahms wrote his Violin Concerto (1879) for the virtuoso Joseph Joachim, who relished  its challenges. ‘One enjoys getting hot fingers playing it,’ he exclaimed, ‘because it’s worth it!’ Wagner’s most tender work had a more private beginning – it was composed in 1870 as a birthday gift for his wife Cosima. Strauss’s tone poem (1889) imagines an artist's death and the subsequent transformation of his spirit. Scenes from the artist’s life flash past, painted in Strauss’ brilliant orchestration.

Open rehearsal
Wed 9 Feb 2–5pm, LSO St Luke's
Daniel Harding  will rehearse the LSO in Wagner and Strauss for this concert
Tickets £4, please call 020 7638 8891 to book

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra

Part of 10 / 11 Season Classical concerts
Part of LSO 2010-2011 Multi-buy
Part of LSO 2010-2011

London Symphony Orchestra

Do Something Different: Other events on at the barbican
An Elizabethan Christmas
30 Nov 14 / Milton Court Concert Hall
Information on An Elizabethan Christmas info  Book tickets to An Elizabethan Christmas book

In Conversation: Computing Education
13 Sep 14 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information on In Conversation: Computing Education info  Book tickets to In Conversation: Computing Education book