London Symphony Orchestra / Kristjan Järvi

Music by Bernstein, Copland, Milhaud and Ellington

9 February 2012 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

subject to availability
 sold out

John Adams The Chairman Dances
Bernstein Three Dance Episodes from ‘On the Town’
Copland Clarinet Concerto
Milhaud La création du monde
Bernstein (orch Foss) Prelude, Fugue and Riffs
Ellington (orch Henderson) Harlem

Kristjan Järvi conductor
Eddie Daniels clarinet
London Symphony Orchestra

The influence of jazz looms large in what we recognise today as the ‘American sound’. From Milhaud’s ballet for orchestra and saxophone, inspired by his first visit to Harlem, through to Copland’s concerto for the great bandleader Benny Goodman and John Adams’ foxtrot from his 1987 opera Nixon in China recalling the jazz and big band sounds of President Nixon’s youth, the breadth of musical styles in tonight’s concert reflects the diversity of American culture itself.

Pre-concert performance

Please note that the pre-concert performance originally scheduled for 9 February will now take place before the concert on 19 February.

Part of LSO 2011-2012
Part of Classical Music all events 2011-12

Supported by LSO Premier

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd

London Symphony Orchestra

Do Something Different: Other events on at the barbican
Guys and Dolls
7 - 15 Jul 15 / Silk Street Theatre, Guildhall School
Information info

Total Immersion: The Music of Louis Andriessen
13 Feb 16 / Milton Court Concert Hall
Information info  Book tickets book

Roman Signer: Slow Movement
4 Mar 15 - 31 May 15 / The Curve
Information info