London Symphony Orchestra / Michael Tilson Thomas

Mahler Symphony No 5

3 June 2012 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

 Sold out

Mozart Violin Concerto No 5 (‘Turkish’)
Mahler Symphony No 5

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Gil Shaham violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Mozart’s experimental Fifth Violin Concerto intersperses lyrical operatic passages with the loud, tongue-in-cheek bursts of traditional Turkish music which have lent the concerto its ‘Turkish’ nickname. Conductor Herbert von Karajan said that when listening to the haunting beauty of Mahler’s Symphony No 5 ‘you forget that time has passed. A great performance of the Fifth is a transforming experience. The fantastic finale almost forces you to hold your breath’.

Pre-concert performance

Guildhall Artists at the Barbican
6–6.45pm, Barbican Hall
Free entry
Mozart Sonatas for Violin and Piano performed by Bartosz Woroch (violin) and Jean-Selim Abdelmoula (piano)

This event is part of:
LSO 2011-2012
Classical Music all events 2011-12

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

Architecture on Stage: Sou Fujimoto
4 May 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

Crazy For You
4 - 12 Jul 17 / Silk Street Theatre, Guildhall School
Information info