London Symphony Orchestra / Michael Tilson Thomas

NB Change of artist Mahler Symphony No 4 and Beethoven Piano Concerto No 3

27 May 2012 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

 Sold out

Beethoven Piano Concerto No 3
Mahler Symphony No 4

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Elizabeth Watts soprano
Llyr Williams piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven played the solo part for the premiere of Piano Concerto No 3 almost entirely from memory, using only the few Egyptian hieroglyphs scribbled onto the score as clues for the music he had no time to transcribe. Mahler’s Symphony No 4 meditates on themes of life and death; one movement summoning ‘Friend Henry’, a fiddle-playing skeleton from German folklore, and another, the touching naïvety of a child’s vision of heaven where ‘the angels bake the bread’.

Change of artist
Llyr Williams will be replacing Yefim Bronfman as the soloist for the LSO’s performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 3, as Mr Bronfman has been advised to take a few days off by his doctor to recover from a virus. The LSO is very grateful to Mr Williams for agreeing to step in at such short notice.

Yefim Bronfman fully expects to be able to appear with the LSO on 31 May to perform the Berg Chamber Concerto.
As of 5.50pm, 24 May 2012

This event is part of:
LSO 2011-2012
Classical Music all events 2011-12

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

After the Rehearsal/Persona
27 - 30 Sep 17 / Theatre
Information info

Next Generation of Jazz Showcase
1 Mar 18 / Milton Court Concert Hall
Information info

The Consul
30 Oct 17 - 6 Nov 17 / Silk Street Theatre, Guildhall School
Information info