London Symphony Orchestra/Michael Tilson Thomas

25 June 2009 / 19:30

£7 £13 £19 £25 £32

 Sold out

Debussy Images
Ravel Rapsodie espagnole
Ravel Piano Concerto in G
Villa-Lobos Chôros No 10

Yuja Wang
Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Although Debussy worked on Images through ill health and a messy divorce, the three pieces sound immensely fresh: captivating landscapes in sound. Ravel, born close to the Spanish border, reflects the country in Rapsodie espagnole (1907), full of ravishing colour. Over two decades later, his piano concerto also has a Hispanic tone, cut with the influence of American jazz. The title of Villa-Lobos’s 1925 piece means ‘rend my heart’, as he transmutes Brazilian melodies into an intensely personal work.

Change of programme
Due to changes to the Orchestra’s and artists’ schedules the programme for this concert has now changed. Debussy Images and Ravel Rapsodie espagnole were in the original programme but the Ravel Piano Concerto has changed (from Concerto for the Left Hand) and Villa-Lobos Chôros No 10 replaces Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte. The order has also been revised. There is no change of soloists.

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
LSO 2008-2009


why not try

Architecture on Stage: Tom de Paor
4 Oct 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info

23 - 29 Nov 17 / Milton Court Theatre
Information info

Battle of Ideas 2017: Weekend pass
28 - 29 Oct 17 / Battle of Ideas
Information info