London Symphony Orchestra/Davis

Berlioz Benvenuto Cellini

26 June 2007 / 19:00

£6 £12 £18 £24 £30

 Sold out

Berlioz Benvenuto Cellini

Sir Colin Davis conductor
Gregory Kunde Cellini
Laura Claycomb Teresa 
Darren Jeffery Balducci
Peter Coleman-Wright Fieramosca
Jacques Imbrailo Pompeo
Isabelle Cals Ascanio
Andrew Kennedy Francesco
John Relyea
Pope Clement VII
Andrew Foster-Williams Bernardino
Alasdair Elliot Cabaretier
London Symphony Chorus

Derived from the swashbuckling memoirs of the Renaissance sculptor and silversmith, Benvenuto Cellini was Berlioz’s first major opera commission, and he certainly went to town on it.

A comic tale of love and intrigue, with an artist as hero, it drew from the excitable young composer a score of unbridled passion and brilliance, and failed after proving too difficult for its first interpreters and audiences alike. Time, however, has proved that it deserved a better fate.

Please note start time.

Change of soloists
The role of Balducci in this evening's performance will be sung by Darren Jeffrey as Michele Pertusi has withdrawn. Andrew Foster-Williams will take Mr Jeffrey's place in the role of Bernardino. The role of Cellini will be played by Gregory Kunde due to the withdrawl of Giuseppe Sabbatini.

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
LSO 2006-2007

Takeda Global Concert


why not try

Basquiat and the Screen
26 Oct 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 2
Information info

Architecture on Stage: Tom de Paor
4 Oct 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info