London Symphony Orchestra / Sir Mark Elder

Elgar Symphony No 1

8 February 2018 / 19:30

Elgar's First Symphony completes a programme of three works that were all many years in the making.

Janáček’s incidental music for Gerhardt Hauptmann’s play Schluck und Jau was written in the last year of the composer’s life, remaining unfinished at his death. The comedy tells the tale of the eponymous drunken vagrants, their mistaken identity and treatment at the hands of Prince Jon.

Bartók’s Third Piano Concerto, too, was left unfinished at his death. As a gift for his wife to play, the music is serene and lyrical with an ambiance of serenity, evoking the American birdsong he had begun to study.

Elgar's First Symphony was composed over many years, but was considered by many to be the most perfect and lyrical of all of Elgar’s works. ‘An immediate and phenomenal success,’ reported the Musical Times after the 1908 premiere.

Programme & Performers

Janáček Schluck und Jau
Bartók Piano Concerto No 3
Elgar Symphony No 1

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Mark Elder conductor
Francesco Piemontesi piano


why not try

Modern Couples
10 Oct 18 - 27 Jan 19 / Art Gallery
Information info

Architecture on Stage: Angela Deuber
11 Sep 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info